A slow house makeover and some quick baking…

My family and I purchased a victorian house in Williamsport, Pennsylvania last summer. It’s in major disrepair, but we’re trying to restore it to it’s original beauty. It was built in 1860 (my mom and I went to the Hall of Records and backtracked the deed to that year) and is beautiful. It’s simpler in it’s design than other typical victorian houses in the area, but the interior is wonderful. Once we’re done fixing it up it will be a pure gem. Right now it’s a diamond in the rough – but it’s our diamond.

 

The house after we bought it (this is the nice picture – we mowed and removed some extremely dead bushes)

 

 

This is the house in October after window replacements, and a new coat of paint on the porch, etc.

 

 

So in my mad dash to get ready for the weekend, I felt the need to make cookies to satisfy everyone’s sweet tooth while working. I recently purchased “The Joy of Vegan Baking” and decided to try the Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe. Can we say YUM? It was very difficult not to eat the entire box of them on the car ride up here.

 

 

 

SB and I were lucky enough to get home at a decent time last night – it allowed us to relax and not worry about getting things ready for the next morning. I was in a cooking mood, so I decided to make the Cheddar “Sheese” Scones from Hannah of Bittersweet. Normally I’m not one for savory scones, but after letting them sit for a couple of minutes then slicing one open and putting on a pat of Earth Balance was the perfect evening snack. They weren’t heavy at all. It’s a simple recipe as well I can see adding some herbs, to change it around for whatever I might crave.

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shellyfish
    May 12, 2008 @ 20:50:06

    That house is like dream house. One of my little dreams is to buy an old farm here and fix it all up & make it pretty again. I much prefer a home with a soul, and that house looks like its got one.
    And Sheese scones- ironically, I can’t find Sheese here (the irony being that Scotland is way closer to France than the US)… the scones look damn tasty!

    Reply

  2. Romina
    May 12, 2008 @ 22:27:23

    Hi!!
    You for sure can add me to your links, I’ll do the same. =) Thanks!

    Your food looks scrumptious! I would devour those cookies in an instant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.