No Bean Sun dried Tomato, Zucchini Hummus

Sundried Tomato Zucchini Hummus

 

I love hummus. Maybe it’s the Lebanese in me or maybe because it’s so simple to make yet so tasty. I could have hummus and carrots for lunch all the time if it was possible but I need variety.

I came up with this recipe one afternoon because I had no chickpeas available and was searching through my refrigerator for something I could use as a replacement. I figured the consistency of zucchini moved through a food processor would be decent and the flavor is mild enough that it wouldn’t throw off the taste. I also love sun dried tomatoes and keep a carton of them in my fridge at all times. Adding the standard tahini, lemon juice, garlic and cumin, and I came up with this. I originally put 4 cloves of garlic in, but after eating half a bowl of the hummus I think I could have offended people with my breath from 5 blocks away. The two cloves compliment it perfectly and it’s not too overpowering.

 

Sun dried Tomato Zucchini Hummus

2 zucchini – peeled and roughly chopped

6 sun dried tomatoes (soaked about a half hour beforehand)

3/4 cups tahini

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

1/4 cup olive oil

2 cloves of garlic

2 tsp salt

1 tbs cumin

 

Put all ingredients into a food processor and blend until smooth and creamy.

 

Enjoy in joy.

Leave a Reply

