Best Detox Yet…

 

 

I mentioned in a previous post that I was doing a raw detox for two weeks. I love doing this every few months – it helps clean out my system and just makes me feel yummy all over. This time around was particularly great because I picked up a new “un”cookbook by Ani Phyo called “Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen”. There are a lot of great recipes in there from breakfast to dinner. I was particularly drawn to this one breakfast recipe call Save The Chicks Pate. The base is made from raw almonds and sunflower seeds. I’m not one to eat sweets for breakfast – I definitely prefer savory so this became a mainstay most mornings for me. I was totally able to make a large batch and have it for following mornings (especially for work since the only raw thing you can get around there is a fruit salad. One cannot live on fruit salad alone!).

 

Absolutely recommend getting this book if you’ve ever been interested in raw food cuisine. Plus the majority of her recipes don’t require a dehydrator – which I love. Even though I have one, I have this thing about waiting 12-24 hours for my food to be ready. When I’m hungry I want it now dammit! (I know ya’ll know what I’m talking about heh).

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Afsoon
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 21:52:26

    Just found your blog! I’ll check out this book for sure…I’m a cook book hoarder…

    Reply

  2. shellyfish
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 20:13:20

    I really love Ani’s book too – and the save the chicks is great. I just have such a hard time dealing with her picture on every freaking page!! Ok, I’m exagerating a little.

    Reply

  3. meg wolff
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 13:06:59

    Sounds like an interesting book. I’ll check it out. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

