Vegan MOFO: off topic rant…

Living in NYC, I am lucky enough to have a plethora of vegan and vegetarian restaurants to choose from. From Thai to Ethiopian, I can pick and choose to my hearts delight without issue. How lucky a vegan I am!

 

A few years back the owners of a restaurant on the Upper East Side called “Candle Cafe” opened another restaurant not too far from the original called “Candle 79”. The food at CC is always stellar (their seitan always has me floored…sooo good) so when I heard about the new place I was really excited. Candle 79 was a different vegan dining experience. You thought twice about wearing ripped up jeans and a tshirt there. It was more upscale – something we were lacking in NY. The food is of course, amazing. I never doubted it. Every time I pass by the restaurant it is full. I never doubted it wouldn’t be hehe.

 

So while reading The New York Times Dining section, I came across a review of Candle 79. It was an ok review, not great. The thing that gets me constantly is when a hardcore meateater reviews a vegan restaurant. WHY? You know they’re going to compare it to something they’re missing – just like this guy did. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled they they reviewed a vegan restaurant but it wasn’t a review that would make me want to run out and try it. Am I wrong? Am I being over critical? Am I just pissed because they kept mentioning the fact that we make things that were one meat laden, vegetarian? Am I being a whiney little b*tch? I don’t know. You be the judge.

New York Times Candle 79 Review

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeni Treehugger
    Oct 17, 2008 @ 15:30:30

    Wrong?
    Over critical?
    Just pissed ?
    A whiney little b*tch?
    No, no, no and no. These things are important.

    Reply

  2. Jeni Treehugger
    Oct 17, 2008 @ 15:30:58

    And that was quite on topic anyway

    Your honour

    Reply

  3. shellyfish
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 15:33:34

    Oh I know, it’s so annoying. It’s like you know you’re going to get a biased opinion anyway. There are plenty of vegan and vegetarian journalists out there…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

