Gluten-free Vegan Brownies

I believe I’ve developed an intolerance to gluten but I need to always get my baking on, so when I heard that BabyCakes (a vegan, gluten-free bakery in NYC) came out with a cookbook – I knew I had to get it. I have many friends who have allergies to wheat, gluten and dairy so this book is perfect. This is their brownie recipe. I believe you can find the recipe in this issue’s VegNews (or last issue – the one with all the bakery recipes in it). The brownies came out amazing. Moist, light and absolutely delicious. I can’t wait to try out the rest of the recipes.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shellyfish
    Jun 02, 2009 @ 04:24:09

    You know, I’ve given up hope on getting my copy (it was supposed to arrive like a month ago). How do you like it? I’ve read that it is very expensive in that it relies heavily on coconut oil, etc. Either way, these look fantastic!

    Reply

  2. vintageveganpotter
    Jun 02, 2009 @ 12:50:45

    Well I think when you first buy the ingredients, it can be a bit pricey. But when I buy baking product, I go with the intention that I’m going to make more that just one thing – so it pays off. The only different ingredients this called for was the chickpea-fava bean flour, coconut oil and potato starch (which I had for egg replacer). Otherwise everything else I had. I’ve been to the bakery and their goods are amazing. I’m really looking forward to being able to replicate it. I hope you get the book soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

