Lemon Poppy Seed Cookies

Lemon loveliness on a beautiful Spring day.

Happy Bunny Day! Ostara, Spring Equinox, Easter – however you celebrate it. I hope your day of  celebrating is wonderful.

The weather today is beautiful. Extremely unseasonal for early April, but who’s complaining? I’m not that’s for sure. I was able to wear my pretty white dress and my open toe shoes and not feel like my legs are freezing off. Spring makes me happy. Now all I need is some grass to squish my toes with and I’ll be set.

I really think that lemon in a baked good is a gift from the gods. They knew it was good and had to pass it along to us somehow. Lemon and sugar plus butter (vegan of course) = heaven. You’re really going to want to bake these. Why? Because they’re damned good (yes, I said damned). Sweet and yummy and the lemon bites the back of your tongue in this amazing, sweet, zesty, shivery way.

Lemon Poppy Seed Cookies

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

3 1/2 tsp lemon zest (from 2 or 3 lemons)

1 cup Earth Balance

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups sugar

Egg replacement equivalent of 1 egg

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 tbs poppy seeds. Extra for sprinkling.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a small saucepan, bring lemon juice to a simmer and cook until it’s reduce by almost half. Add 1/2 cup of Earth Balance. Blend until melted, then take off heat.

Stir together 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 1/2 tsp of lemon zest. With your hands, rub the lemon zest and sugar together until well combined. The sugar will start to become a very pale yellow. Set aside.

Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. Cream the remaining Earth Balance and 1 cup of sugar together on medium speed in electric mixer with a paddle attachment (or on medium speed of a hand held mixer). Mix in egg replacer and lemon butter mixture until pale – about 2 or 3 minutes. Mix in vanilla and leftover lemon zest. Add flour and poppy seeds.

Roll spoonfuls of the cookie dough together to form 1 1/2 in balls (approximately); roll them in the sugar/lemon zest mixture. Place them about 2 inches apart on baking sheets. Press each ball with the bottom of a glass until it’s about 1/4 inch thick. Sprinkle lightly with poppy seeds.

Bake until browned around the bottom edges – about 10-12 minutes. Transfer to wire racks and let cool completely.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elinor of Pride & Vegudice
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 18:25:55

    Yum! Lemon and poppyseed always get associated with muffins! Way to rock the cookies!

    Reply

  2. Lazaro
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 12:14:04

    Saw your profile on food buzz. You have a wonderful blog. Beautiful vibrant photos and well written content. Look forward to following you here. Have a wonderful day!

    Reply

  3. Chef Dennis
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 16:46:44

    what a great cookie…..you can see how well made it is, it has shortbread look to it…..well done!!

    Reply

  4. Foy Update
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 02:40:35

    Wow, your website is beautiful! It’s such a simple and elegant design, plus you photos could be out of Martha Stewart. I saw your comment on my blog and had to come check you out. I’ve added your to my google reader.

    Have you been submitting your photos to any of the foodie photo websites like foodgawker.com or tastespotting. It’s one of the main ways I get traffic to my site.

    Cheers,

    Foy

    Reply

  5. shellyfish
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 21:07:08

    These look delicious! I’m bookmarking. I don’t know if I’ve said it lately, but your pictures are just so beautiful.

    Reply

  6. Christy
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 08:09:25

    Yummy and so beautiful! I love lemon in everything!

    Reply

  7. paula
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 19:51:02

    i just baked these and they are absolutely delightful. thank you!

    Reply

  8. Steve
    Jun 16, 2013 @ 09:31:20

    I made these last week, they were an instant hit!

    Reply

  9. sandra
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 10:28:10

    could you make this recipe easier to print.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

